

Officer Decision Record



Decision Maker:	Janet Waggott, Chief Executive
Lead Officer:	Palbinder Mann, Democratic Services Manager
Title of Decision:	Membership of Committees 2021-22
Ward(s) Affected:	All
Type of Decision:	☐ Key Decision
	□ Non key decision discharging (or connected to the discharge of) an Executive function
	☐ Grant of permission / licence
	☐ Affecting the rights of an individual
	Awarding a contract or incurring expenditure which materially affects the financial position of the Council
Details of decision:	To make the following appointments to Committees for 2021-22, with immediate effect:
	Councillor Chris Pearson to replace Councillor Mike Jordan as a Conservative Group member of the Licensing Committee.
	Councillor Charles Richardson from the Conservative Group to replace Councillor Steve Shaw-Wright from the Labour Group on the Planning Committee.
	Councillors Ellie Jordan and Mike Jordan to be appointed as Conservative Group substitute members of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee.
	Councillors Ian Chilvers, Keith Ellis, Neil Reader and Charles Richardson to be appointed as Conservative Group substitute members of the Policy Review Committee.
	Councillor Charles Richardson to replace Councillor Chris

	Pearson as a Conservative Group member of the Audit and Governance Committee.
	Councillors John Cattanach, Keith Ellis, Richard Sweeting and Mark Topping to be appointed as Conservative Group substitute members of the Audit and Governance Committee.
Reason for decision:	Due to the covid pandemic the By-Election for the seat that has been vacant since 2020 could not take place until 6 May 2021. This has resulted in the need to review the political proportionality that was agreed at the remote Annual Council on 27 April 2021.
	Ordinarily such changes would be approved by Council decision. However, the next Council meeting is not until 13 July 2021, and so the Chief Executive has given effect to the changes to comply with the wishes of the relevant political groups as soon as is practicable, exercising her delegation from Council at Part 3, 3.9.3, (k) (ii) to the Constitution. It is intended that Council ratify the decision on 13 July 2021.
	The amendments to the Labour and Conservative Group Committee appointments are made in consultation with the Leader of Council and the Leader of the Labour Group.
Alternative options considered and rejected:	None - Each Committee requires a full complement of Members.
Member Interests: (Name of any Member who has declared a conflict of interest in relation to the decision and details of any dispensation granted by the Head of Paid Service if appropriate)	None.
Legal, Financial or other implications:	None.
Background papers:	None.
Contact details for further	Palbinder Mann, Democratic Services Manager pmann@selby.gov.uk

information:	
Signed:	Signature redacted
	Janet Waggott, Chief Executive
Date of Decision:	25 May 2021